Thursday Fact or Myth

Blotting a slice of pizza eliminates calories

Fact

A few but not many. It’s hard to say how many calories you sop up with your napkin, you can estimate between 25-30 calories. If your going to blot do it while the pizza’s hot. Best advice-ask for light cheese and LOTS of veggies 🙂

Questions: (answer by commenting, I want to hear from you!)

1. Do you blot your pizza?

I don’t if I’m having pizza I’m going for it.

2. Whats your favorite pizza?

Cheese!!!

3. Who has the best pizza?

Pizza Hut…nice and greasy.

About fitsgreaterthanskinny

My favorite thing to do is to wake up early and start the day off with a good sweat. There's nothing more exciting then trying and new workout. I love to create new workouts to help people get fit. View all posts by fitsgreaterthanskinny

9 responses to “Thursday Fact or Myth

  • Faith Fitness and Laughter

    Hmmm, you know, I don’t think I ever blotted my pizza. I hardly eat it now, but when I do I try to make a healthy version and then there is no need. 🙂

    My favorite pizza?? Pizza Hut of course!! Pepperoni lovers!

  • runderbykat

    I always blot and I always think I’m saving myself a ton of calories. Dang.
    I love Papa Johns… plus breadsticks. Delish!

  • Cate W

    There’s an awesome pizza recipe in Oxygen’s Fat Blasting Food Guide. WW crust, chicken, mushrooms and just enough cheese for flavor but not too over the top. Save calories and money.

    My favorite pizza is Pepe’s white clam (at The Spot) or Pepperoni ( I’m a New Haven girl!).

    • fitsgreaterthanskinny

      Do you still have that recipe from Oxygen…if so I would LOVE a copy!

      • cateslittlelife

        Sure do! I was drooling over it yesterday. Copied from Oxygen’s Fat Blasting Food Guide (love you Tosca Reno!):

        nonstick olive oil spray
        1 lb whole wheat pizza dough
        1 tsp olive oil
        1 garlic clove, minced
        1/2 cup chopped onions
        1 1/2 cups sliced mushrooms
        2 Tbsp sliced black olives
        1/8 to 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, to taste
        1 cup chopped cooked chicken
        2 Tbsp chopped fresh basil
        2 Tbsp freshly grated Parmesan cheese

        1. Preheat oven to 450*. Lightly spray a large cookie sheet with olive oil spray.

        2. On lightly floured surface, roll out dough evenly to a rectangular or round shape large enough to fit the pan. Place dough in pan and bake 8 minutes.

        3. Meanwhile heat oil in skillet over medium heat and saute garlic, onion and mushrooms until onion starts to brown, approx 3 minutes.

        4. Remove crust from the oven and top evenly with the onion mixture. Distribute olive slices evenly over top and sprinkle with red pepper flakes. Top with chicken, basil and Parmesan cheese and return to oven to bake until cheese melts (approx 8 more minutes).

        4 servings

        Per serving:
        333 cals
        6g fat
        52g carbs
        5g fiber
        1g sugar
        18g protein

        Obviously a far cry from a gooey Pizza Hut creation, but satisfying when you want a healthy slice. Kinda reminds me of California Pizza Kitchen. I thought throwing some lightly sauteed spinach on there was a good idea and it was 🙂

  • megan @ muncher cruncher

    I rarely eat pizza because it doesn’t fill me up and I could eat like 10 pieces…scary thought right? So, i try to stay away….HOWEVER if I do it it I am definitely a blotter! I always think people think it’s gross, but who cares, right!?!? Love the blog darling! 🙂 xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

