Wednesday Fit Recipe

Favorite Granola

Notice the title, Favorite Granola. I have a gazillion and one granola recipes, it’s one of my favorite treats but this has got to be my very favorite! It’s simple, crunchy, sweet, and just plain delicious. I make a batch of granola about every other week, I always double the recipe put half of it in a cookie jar and freeze the other half. I love granola plain, in yogurt, on top of my protein shakes, on top of oatmeal, for cereal, the list goes on and on and on and on. I realize granola is high in calories so I “try” and eat it in moderation.

Ingredients:

8 c. oats

3 c. whole almonds (you can use any type of nut)

1/2 c. brown sugar

1 t. salt

1 t. ground cinnamon (I like more)

1/2 c. canola oil (You can use any type of oil, my favorite is coconut because it’s healthier)

1/2 c. honey (tip:use same measuring cup that you measured the oil in and the honey will slide right out)

2 t. vanilla extract

3 c. dried fruit (my favorite is craisins and blueberries)

Handful of Flax and Chia seeds (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. In a large bowl, mix oats, almonds, brown sugar, salt, and cinnamon.

In a small saucepan, warm the oil and honey. Wish in vanilla extract. Pour the honey, oil, and vanilla mixture over the oat mixture. Mix gently but well. Mix with spatula and then your hands.

Spread mixture on two cookie sheets and bake for 40 minutes, stirring after the first 20. Cool, then break up clumps. Mix in dried fruits. At this point I sprinkle flax seed and chia seeds on top for extra nutrition 😉

0

Questions:

1. How do you eat your granola?

2. Do you have a favorite recipe or brand you love?

About fitsgreaterthanskinny

My favorite thing to do is to wake up early and start the day off with a good sweat. There's nothing more exciting then trying and new workout. I love to create new workouts to help people get fit. View all posts by fitsgreaterthanskinny

One response to “Wednesday Fit Recipe

Leave a Reply

