Thursday Fit Question

How do you keep junk food cravings at bay?

A new study shows that frequent meals are the surest way to fend off strong cravings for junk food. Brain-imaging scans showed that when glucose levels drop, the prefrontal cortex loses its ability to blunt the desire for high-calorie foods, leading to urges that can feel uncontrollable. Nutrient-dense whole foods, including fruit, vegetables, and lean meat are the healthiest way to keep blood-sugar levels steady without any dramatic spikes.

My daily regimen is breakfast at 7:30 a.m., snack at 10 a.m., lunch at 12 p.m., another snack at 3 p.m., dinner at 5 p.m. and finally another treat at 7 p.m. If I skip any of these meals I inevitably end up eating something I wished I hadn’t. Stay in front of your hunger with healthy foods and you won’t be tempted next time by the ding-dongs.

Junk food does

About fitsgreaterthanskinny

My favorite thing to do is to wake up early and start the day off with a good sweat. There's nothing more exciting then trying and new workout. I love to create new workouts to help people get fit. View all posts by fitsgreaterthanskinny

2 responses to “Thursday Fit Question

  • Little Sis

    My most successful tactic with unhealthy food is to make sure it is NOT in my house, ever. It is simply not available. There are a handful of sometimes foods for the kids, but nothing that makes my short list of favorite downfalls. I also have tried to identify what core flavor is at the heart of such cravings. For me (for most, I think) it’s usually either salty or sweet and so if I feel one of those coming, I try to target that flavor – salt craving? Handful of roasted salted pistachios. Sweet craving? fruit or low sugar cereal. It usually works pretty well. If I try to do mini-meals I run into problems. It always ends up being many meals, not so mini. 🙂

Leave a Reply

